Vintage Makeup Vanity Table Upgrade

My grandparents frequently drop off furniture or odds and ends that they no longer want or project pieces that they think I would have fun with. This horribly worn down vanity with the mirror was one of these items.

Vintage dresser makeup vanity remodel and upgrade

In the beginning it needed a lot of work! I removed the mirror which came off easily and took to using a furniture grade sandpaper to start taking off the layers or old paint that was giving this vanity a very rough texture. I sanded everything including the top wooden part, and this took a lot of time. Sometimes redoing furniture can be such a tedious task, especially when it comes to sanding because it is setting up the foundation of how good your piece will look!

After all that sanding (and there was a lot of it!) I decided why not sand a little more. I found this old chair for $3.00 at a local antique shop and brought it home. It was the perfect height for the vanity! I began by sanding the piece down and priming it before painting it white and using an old grain sack to reupholster the cushion.

Vintage makeup vanity dresser table remodel and upgrade

Unfortunately all I have left of this project are the finished product pictures. But after sanding the piece down and finishing the chair I painted the piece in a soft mossy pastel green color, that could almost be mistaken for off white, and painting the mirror in soft cream color. After the paining was finished I went back in and stained the top of the vanity with a dark stain and clear coated the top. I switched out the knobs for some I had found at Hobby Lobby and reattached the mirror.

And there you have it, a simple country vanity that can be completed in a weekend!

Leave a comment